9 weeks in

Hey guys!  It has been quite some time since I wrote, so I thought I would take some time to update you on my training.

So, I’ve been training now for 9 weeks.  That is right, I have made it a whole 9 weeks.  I am half way through training, which means there are only 9 weeks left until the marathon/half marathon. EEEKKK!  With Team World Vision’s training plan,  I am getting stronger everyday.  The plan is far from over though.  I still have very tough days physically and mentally and I know as I continue to train it is only going to continue to get tougher.  I have learned not to look too far ahead.  The distance gets farther and farther with each week.  I only look at the plan one day at a time.  That way I am not dreading what is to come.  I have also enjoyed all the running because it has become a time that I can pray and talk with God.  I have seen some of the most beautiful sunrises during my early morning runs.  A huge source of motivation comes from listening to Air-1 radio and our team group runs on Saturdays.  But I know with the good, comes the bad.  My calves have been extremely sore since the beginning of training.  Sometimes so sore, it hurts just to touch them or brush up against something. I have also started to experience side stitch, which sometimes requires me to slow down to a walk for short periods of time and I can not leave out the fact that we are in the heat of the summer.  Temps are between the 90’s-100 +  with the heat index each day.   Some days when I get home from 9 hours of work and have a house to clean and laundry to do and dinner to cook, I don’t want to go run.  Some days I argue with myself, but then I look at my fridge and I am reminded why  I am doing this and that I must press on.

Meet Rachel

IMG_3644

Rachel is our sponsor child from Rwanda Africa.  I was introduced to her 2 years ago. Rachel lives at home with her mom and siblings. She is young girl who loves language and loves playing with balls when she is at school. Some day she wants to be a teacher.  Rachel is one of the many faces I run for.  Rachel and Team World Vision have no relation other than the Common Denominator of Africa.  Rachel is very dear to my heart and when I found out TWV was dedicated to bringing clean, safe water to Africa, I was without a doubt joining with them on this mission.

FACT:  Every day nearly 1600 children under 5 die from diarrhea caused by contaminated water, poor sanitation and poor hygiene.

 

Friends this is a real issue.  I know you may not know me or ever will, but this has nothing to do with me.  Look at her face.  Look at her smile.  She is no different from you and I and deserves just the same.  She deserves the very same clean and safe water that we take advantage of every day.  Please join us and be part of the solution.

You can donate at http://www.teamworldvision.org/participant/crystalwilson

$50= 1 Life

Leave a Reply

